MENU

virginiainformation.org is privately owned and is neither operated by, nor affiliated with, any government agency.


Virginia Auto Insurance

All drivers must obtain car insurance in Virginia before they purchase new license plates or decals, as proof of auto insurance is a requirement when registering a vehicle with the Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV). If drivers cannot present proof of vehicle insurance when they register an automobile in the state, then they must pay an uninsured vehicle fee. Motorists can obtain a basic or full coverage car insurance policy, as long as the plan meets the state’s minimum insurance requirements. However, many discount auto insurance policies are available to motorists who cannot afford a more comprehensive plan. To get started, drivers can search for Virginia auto insurance quotes here. Keep in mind, however, that while the cheapest auto insurance may fit a budget better, it may not provide the best coverage. To learn more about getting car insurance in Virginia and how to find the best car insurance policies to fit any budget, review the sections below.

Virginia Car Insurance Registration Requirements

Vehicle owners must get car insurance in Virginia before they may register an automobile with the state DMV or purchase new license plates or registration stickers. If they do not buy auto insurance before they register a vehicle, then the must pay an uninsured motor vehicle (UMV) fee in addition to standard registration fees. However, the fee does not provide vehicle owners with insurance. Instead, they must purchase auto insurance in Virginia after they register the vehicle or risk being held liable for any damages they may sustain in an accident. Drivers can get affordable car insurance quotes here to avoid paying the UMV fee during the vehicle registration process.

Furthermore, drivers who lack VA car insurance during the vehicle registration process must pay additional fees if they falsely certify that they hold insurance on their automobile. False auto insurance certifications may result in the following penalties:

  • Vehicle registration and driver license suspensions
  • A statutory fee
  • A reinstatement fee
  • Filing proof of vehicle insurance for a three-year period (or SR-22)

Note: If you do not buy car insurance before you register your vehicle, then you may continue to drive the vehicle at your own risk after you pay the necessary fees. However, the UMV fee does not provide you with insurance. The better solution is to find cheap auto insurance policies that fit your budget, as the average car insurance cost in Virginia varies per policy.

Minimum Virginia Car Insurance Amounts

In addition to getting auto insurance prior to registering a vehicle, motorists must meet minimum liability insurance requirements or they may obtain a more comprehensive full-coverage car insurance policy. However, auto insurance in Virginiamust cover the following minimum requirements:

  • Bodily injury or the death of one person: $25,000
  • Bodily injury or the death of two or more individuals: $50,000
  • Property damage: $20,000

Even if drivers purchase the cheapest auto insurance policy they can find, their plan must contain coverage for bodily injury and property damage liability, as well as uninsured/underinsured motorist coverage (UM). The minimum amount of coverage drivers need is known as $25,000/$50,000/$20,000 insurance. Drivers can find online car insurance quotes that meet these minimum Virginia vehicle insurance requirements and fit their budget. To get started, motorists can save money by comparing auto insurance quotes here.

Alternately, drivers can find VA auto insurance quotes for a full-coverage auto insurance policy if they wish to receive additional financial protection. When searching for auto insurance rates on comprehensive plans, car owners can choose from a variety of options, including car insurance coverage for damages, medical expenses, loss of income benefits, transportation expenses or additional liability coverage. However, drivers may wonder, “How much is car insurance in Virginia if I buy a full coverage car insurance policy?” Like minimum liability motor vehicle insurance policies, a variety of factors impact car insurance prices, including driving history, vehicle type, credit score, marital status, gender, age, vehicle security features, daily driving distances, safe driver discounts, good student discounts and completion of a defensive driving course.

For motoristswondering, “What is the cheapest car insurance I can get?” it is important to remember that minimum car insurance requirements include a $25,000/$50,000/$20,000 policy. Drivers can compare auto insurance in Virginia and search for a plan that best fits their budget right here.

How to Get Car Insurance in Virginia

Whether drivers wish to obtain a full-coverage vehicle insurance policy or they prefer to meet the state’s minimum liability requirements, comparing auto insurance rates is crucial before settling on any policy. When comparing car insurance quotes in Virginia, it is important to keep the state’s competitive rating law in mind. Under this law, car insurance prices vary by company, which can make it more difficult to choose an insurance provider. However, drivers can find the best car insurance rates for their budget by searching for car insurance quotes online and gathering rates from several different agents and insurance companies. When shopping around for cheap car insurance quotes in Virginia, motorists will feel more confident in the provider they choose if they remember to ask about the policy’s annual premium price, deductibles, customer ratings and other details that can influence their decision. While the cost of VA car insurance is important, the additional benefits and discounts many companies offer are just as crucial. To find an affordable policy, compare auto insurance quotes here.

It might also interest you: